Confessions part 1

Posted on January 19, 2011

0


It has been quite a long time since I have blogged. I admit, a lot has been going on in my life which has caused me to step back and examine every aspect of it. I question what my calling is and how I get there. Considering the state of Christianity in America right now, in many ways regret getting a Bachelors in Bible instead of something else more career driven. I am angry at the church, not specifically my church but the church as a whole. Don’t get me wrong, I love Jesus and I am thankful for all He has done. However, I find it so hard to catch a glimpse of Jesus in this culture that I live in. Thankfully, one of my best friends is also my pastor and I know he is real and transparent. Yet, so much around me fails in transparency.

I would like to propose something cathartic for myself. I plan on writing a series of short blogs that simply start off by saying “It gets in the way of my faith when….” At that time I will have the opportunity to share and release the feelings within that tend to hinder my faith. I would like to encourage other bloggers to follow me in this project. It would be nice to see such a burst of openness and transparency within the Christian blogging community. So here goes nothing……

It gets in the way of my faith when…. I turn on the television and see people like Sarah Palin and the other tea partiers evoking the name of my Lord in order to push their political agenda. I don’t mind the fact that they hold to conservative political opinions. I mind that they use the name of my God to push the agenda. Then I see other evangelicals that I thought were my friends abandon and pretend not to know me simply because I voted for a liberal candidate. It hurts me and clutters my relationship with God when I see people mold faith in the view of their politics and vice versa.

