I’m A Recovering Pharisee

Posted on July 31, 2010

0


For much of my life, I have struggled with pride. As many of my readers may know, pride within it’s self is a sin because pride is outside of the will of God. There have been many times throughout my life where I have determined something to be wrong, or to be labeled a sin, simply on the basis of head knowledge. For instance, during my youth I felt it was wrong to listen to secular music. Looking back, I realize now how foolish, prideful and un-Biblical that stance actually was. I had the same prejudice toward movies that were rated ‘R’.

Last week’s sermon at my church was a breakdown of the Old Covenant vs.. the New Covenant. It was during this sermon that I felt conviction and truly realized how wrong I had been. See, I always felt that alcohol was wrong. This entire basis was built upon my Baptist tradition and it was not Biblically based. After all, 1 Timothy 5:23 actually encourages the drinking of wine as a digestion aid! Looking back, I kept seeing church leaders, even some that I respect, drilling the idea into my head that Jesus turned water into grape juice and not wine.

Now, I am not writing this post for the reason to tell everyone that I think drinking alcohol is acceptable. My main goal in writing this post is to tell you that I am a recovering Pharisee. I have lived my life in an extremely religious manner instead of in a Christ-honoring manner. There is no telling how many people I have turned away from Christ because of my misconceptions. I can only ask that God forgive me for those mistakes. I also hope that those in my life can forgive me for some of my misconceptions. We are all on this journey toward Christ and every one of us still has more than enough room to grow. I know for myself, God is continually breaking my misconceptions and showing me his way.

Let me encourage all of you who are on this Christian journey; take a step back and examine your life. Out of everything that you do and do not do, are those things done or not done because of the teaching of the Holy Bible?  -or- Are those things done or not done because of tradition?

