Lower Your Voice!

Posted on April 19, 2010

0


I usually don’t post this type of blog. I like to make people think about their Christian spirituality. I usually do not use my blog in order to drive a point home or make a complaint. Yet, I have also been digesting some things lately and feel this is the best vehicle to share my views. Many videos are being thrown around the internet involving a false teaching of salvation. I am sure most Christians know what video I am talking about as. It always ends up in my inbox every three months so I figure it ends up in yours as well. 

So many evangelicals are getting on board with the view of salvation shared on the video. It is causing problems within the church and I honestly fear what damage this philosophy will do. The sad thing is that he is reaching directly to young people in one of his videos. I will not touch the theology of the video. That is for another time and another place. I plan on addressing his theology after I take more time to digest his message.

Where I take the most issue with this Bible teacher is essentially in his approach. Early in his lecture, which is more of a scream session than anything, he forces the listener to doubt his or her salvation. All sins are equal under heaven but to me one of the worst crimes you could ever commit is to make someone doubt their salvation. Telling the audience that hundreds of them are not truly saved, does just that.

I take offense at how he speaks. I know that this is not important to most. I grew up in legalistic circles and I know how that experience allows you to become numb to those types of preachers who do so with elevated voice levels. Now, I don’t agree with this false teacher’s message. Yet, I would give him more respect if he followed the advice of Peter.

..if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it.  But do this in a gentle and respectful way. (1 Peter 3:15-16, NLT)

I preached a message regarding what I call the “bullhorn man.” My point on this blog is the same point I made during that message. YOU WILL NOT REFLECT JESUS AND ALLOW HEARTS TO BE CHANGED IF YOU DO NOT LOWER YOUR VOICE!

Posted in: Uncategorized