75 Pounds Behind Me

Posted on February 11, 2010

4


I have been on a weight loss journey using the Weight Watchers program since the first week of September 2009. It has been a tough challenge for me. I have had my ups and my downs. I have had to resist favorite foods and make different choices as to what to eat. After watching Food Inc. I determined that in lowering my quantity of food intake, I would make the decision to raise the quality of what I eat. I have learned to drastically cut out meats and cheeses. Which has been hard in itself because I love a good queso dip! I have learned to appreciate the flavor of fat free milk where I used to only be able to drink whole milk. I have traded my usual fast food for places like ChickFilA, Subway, and Qdoba where healthier options are available. I have flat out avoided places like Applebees and Olive Garden for their refusal to publish their full nutritional information breakdown. I have traded night time canned pasta binges for fresh fruit.

So what have I gained with all of this effort? Nothing; in fact what I have been dealt is a loss. To be more specific, this is a loss of 75 pounds. To think, that my body is 75 pounds lighter than it was last fall just astonishes me. 75 pounds is a lot! Just go to the gym and try to do 15 repetitions of 75 pounds and tell me how it bad it burns. Not only have I lost so much weight, I am losing clothes. Literally, these jeans are going to fall off if I don’t buy some smaller ones!

So I will continue my journey until I get to where I need to be. I feel that I have a good 180 more pounds to lose until I am at a healthy weight for my body type and height. I have faith that I will get there. Though, it may take time. I can continue to draw motivation from friends and family. One day, hopefully within two years time, I will be where I need to be.

Posted in: weight loss