Acceptance

Posted on December 17, 2009

0


You know sometimes when you look at an overview of your life; you realize where you were and were not accepted. At small group the other night, part of the conversation was about places and times in our lives where we have felt that there were walls built between us and other people. This caused me to think about my life. There has always been some type of wall between me and someone crucial to my life, that is until now.

In public school I was too much of a Christian to be accepted.

In Christian school, I listened to too much rock music to be accepted.

In my first church, my parents did not make enough money for me to be accepted.

At my first Christian college, I watched too many episodes of South Park and Family Guy to be accepted.

During my first church leadership position, I was too accepting of others to be accepted myself.

So that brings me to now. I have a great family life that was birthed out of openness and honesty, which are two things I was always scared of. My parents support me in whatever crazy endeavors I choose to attempt. Most importantly, I am in a church where I can truly be myself. I don’t have to hide my entertainment choices. I can share my perspective on the scriptures with others without fear of ridicule. Hands down, I feel accepted for the very first time in my life.

The cool thing is this, Jesus accepted people. He loved and befriended those who were filthy sinners, prostitutes, and corrupt politicians. We have to follow that example and simply accept people and meet them where they are at. This is exactly what the church that I am now a member of does.

Now, I know it is Christmas time. Everyone wants to go to a church during the Christmas season, rather you believe or not. I want to just leave it open for any and all of you to join me at church this coming Sunday or at our late night Christmas Eve service. I promise you that you will be accepted. I am. Just shoot me an email for more information, horizonsrock@hotmail.com
Merry Christmas and Happy Hanukkah,

Jason

Posted in: Uncategorized