U2 Concert Review

Posted on October 5, 2009

4


Concert: U2 360 tour

Supporting act: Muse

Date: October 3 2009

Venue: Carter Finley Stadium, Raleigh NC

This was my first time ever seeing U2. I did not have the best seats, but viewing the show from a distance allowed me to truly take in the experience. Opening act, Muse, left much to be expected. To me they seem sort of like a Nine Inch Nails copycat. They depend way too much on electronic effect and pre-recorded tones. They simply were not my cup of tea. U2 played an excellent show; however, they did not play two of my favorite songs: “Bullet the Blue Sky” or “Pride, In the Name of Love.” They did play a set full of new songs and old songs along with a few surprises. The most notable performances of the evening were a techno remix of “I’m Gonna Go Crazy…” and Bono leading the crowd in “Amazing Grace” which happened to be sandwiched between “One” and “Where the Streets Have No Name.” All in all, the environment was very worshipful. Sure, people were drinking all around yet attitudes were all around much better than any Christian concert I have ever attended. I did have one funny thought throughout the whole evening. During “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m looking For,” Bono proclaimed “I’m gonna take you to church” and I immediately thought of the drunk people around us. I decided that if Bono were  to truly take us to church, I sure hope it is not a Baptist church. (insert punchline drum hit here)

Set List:

Breathe

Get On Your Boots

Mysterious Ways

Beautiful Day

No Line On The Horizon

Magnificent

Elevation

In A Little While

New Years Day

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

Stuck In A Moment You Can’t Get Out Of

The Unforgettable Fire

City Of Blinding Lights

Vertigo

I’m Gonna Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight (techno remix)

Sunday Bloody Sunday

People Get Ready /  MLK

Walk On

(encore 1)

(Desmond Tutu speech)

One

Amazing Grace

Where the Streets Have No Name

(encore 2)

Ultra Violet

With Or Without You

Moment Of Surrender

Tagged: , , ,
Posted in: culture, Jesus, music