It is just comedy!

Posted on April 8, 2008

0


Rewind to two weeks ago. I arrive at college just in time for New Testament class. I get out of my car to be confronted by one of my classmates. He approaches me in question of the Eric Cartman (from South Park) stuffed figure in my back window. We discuss back and forth as he has to explain why he feels that the show in question is not “right” for a Christian to watch. I blow off the conversation, realizing that this young man has probably been brainwashed by higher religious figures. Agree to disagree, I suppose.

Fast forward to today. We had an interesting Pentateuch class today; our first day of discussing Deuteronomy. This is yet another book of law in the Old Testament. As any post modern thinker would tell you, when you have a book of “law” there is always going to be another mind who will interpret falsely. This is the cause of legalism. In my opinion legalism is birthed both out of ignorance and of the lack of acknowledgment of the divine grace of God. Today is the first day that I feel that a professor at John Wesley College has crossed the line into legalism.

After an extremely adventurous class (I will discuss those details at a later time) the professor decided to talk about the evils that we bring into our homes. These evils are entertainment as far as my professor is concerned. He proceeded to talk about how the type of comedy we allow ourselves to watch is just horrible and sinful.

Stop right there.

I sat there asking myself many questions like “is it really Dr. so in so’s business what we watch on tv?” Of course ‘no’ is the appropriate answer. “Does God really care about what we watch on tv?” My answer to that question is ‘maybe.’ To me personally, a few bathroom jokes and a few F’ bombs do not bother me. Jesus himself (read the red letters in your Bible) never specifically addresses the idea of profane language.

Now here is where we break it down. I believe that sin is anything that separates you from God. Does what I watch on tv separate me from God? No, I don’t think so. If someone struggles with committing deadly violence that person probably should not watch a movie with a lot of violence or action. (As a side note, why do Christians tend to preach against potty humor, profanity and sexuality but totally ignore the violence that is scattered all over the media? A sin is a sin right?)

Now then, “does Dr. so in so have the right to call sin out from his podium?” Not at all. That right is not given to him or any professor, pastor or individual. In my opinion from the way I interpret the Bible, no man can call sin out specifically to a group of people. Go read Hebrews 8:10, it makes mention of how the law is now written on the hearts of people rather than on paper. This writing of the law on the hearts of people could also be called “the Holy Spirit.” Reading further in Hebrews… “By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and outdated will soon disappear.” (Hebrews 8:13, TNIV). The old law is obsolete! The Holy Spirit is now here to guide Christians. The law is the same as that in the Bible but it is now up for the Holy Spirit to convict us of sin personally.

Now as for comedy, I will laugh at what I choose to laugh at unless I feel convicted otherwise. However, as long as crazy people exist who want to dictate God’s law to other people there will ALWAYS be comedy in my mind.

